Skip to main content

Awards and Honors

Employee Award Program

University Libraries established the award program in 2004. The award selection committee reviews nominations and chooses the winners. Nominations can be submitted by any college employee in 3 award categories: Exemplary Employee Award, Bright Idea Award, and the Project Implementation Award for a team effort. Winners receive time off with pay, Lobocash and a certificate presented at the annual award ceremony.

2018 Award Winners

Exemplary Employee Award

Christopher Larranaga

Amy Winter

Bright Idea Award

Kevin Brown

Project Implementation Team Award

IT Workstation Team – John Benedetto, Carl Donsbach, Charles Funnell, Kathleen Garcia, Dave Rixse, and Rob Wiberg 

Outstanding Student Employee Awards

This award program is funded by long-time supporters Jim and Mary Lois Hulsman and recognizes student employees for outstanding performance, initiative, reliability, quality of work, attitude, and overall contribution to the College and its users. A team of judges reviews submissions made by full-time library staff.

2018 Award Winners

Brian Baldanado

Samantha Banda

Bree Barnett

Madison Denny

Breanne Larsen

Jacobe Perry

Brittany Trejo

Annastashea Weeding

Jeffrey Zamorano

Previous Employee Award Winners

Exemplary Employee Award
2005 - Rebecca Bauerschmidt
2006 - Susan Magee
2007 - Bonifacio Anglada, Ed Padilla, Louie Perez, Anne Schultz
2008 - Anne Schultz, Steve Keller
2009 - Rik Burkard, Christine Nelson
2010 - Clark McLean, Carol Renfro, Dave Herzel
2011 - Heidi Perea, Ava Kargacin, Carroll Botts
2012 - Aaron Blecha, Wendy Pedersen
2013 - George Farr, Joseph Lane
2014 - Leslie Bronson, Connie Kelly
2015- Nancy Brown-Martinez, Jean Delacour
2016- Susan Hessney-Moore, Sandy Provencio
2017- Frances Morgan, Adrienne Warner
Bright Idea Award Winners
2005 - Nancy Brown Martinez
2006 - Techie Brown Bag Team
2007 - Serials Receiving/Bindery/Marking
2008 - Deborah Cole
2009 - Interlibrary Loan Dept.
2012 - Celebrating NM Statehood Project Team
2013 - Silvia Lu
2014 - Chris R. Johnson
2015- Aaron Blecha
2016- Nancy Bennett
2017- Bonnie Bryant
Project Implementation Team Winners 
2013 - Web Implementation Team (Zoe Chao, Holly Phillips, Lori Townsend, Amy Jackson, Christine Sraha, Brian Freels-Stendel) 
2014 - JSTOR Project Team (Bonifacio Anglada, Mary Bruesch, Thomas Cabot, Russell Cole, Kat Gullahorn, Jonathan Hartshorn, Steven A. Keller, William Kinney, Deborah Kozerski, Rudy  Meixell, Louie Perez, Anne Schultz, Jason Shoup, Emily Veenstra-Ott)
2015- API Team (Cameron Stewart, Jonahlyn Gilstrap, Jerrick Morsey, Eric Nudel, Brian K. Freels-Stendel)
2016- Parish Library Shifting Team (Nancy Bennett, Deborah Kozerski)
2017- The Better World Books Project (Bonifacio Anglada, Betty Blackburn, Joe Lane, Damian Wasson)